Skip to content

Truffles!

December 21, 2009

For Christmas I decided to make boxes of assorted truffles to give out.  I started with a recipe from Tamami (check out the recipe here). From there, I made one batch of plain chocolate flavored truffles.  The next batch I made features a spicy kick with the addition of cinnamon and cayenne.  And finally, I tried a batch with a bit of raspberry jam swirled in for a fruity twist.

These ganache fillings were then coated in a hard layer of dark chocolate and topped with hazel nuts (the plain truffles), milk chocolate shavings (the spicy truffles), and white chocolate shavings (the chocolate raspberry truffles).  They look absolutely gorgeous in the little clear plastic boxes I bought to package them in, and they taste just as delicious as they look.  My personal favourites are the peppery cinnamon ones, but that is probably because I don’t like things that are overly sweet.  Somehow, the spicy kick of these truffles seems to neutralize some of their sweetness.  Pairing these with a bit of zinfandel or port and a good book is absolute heaven!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

