Skip to content

Bagels!

August 22, 2009

Baked

I’ve always wanted to learn how to make breads (not the easy breads like banana bread and zucchini bread, but the real artisan breads).  Bagels aren’t quite that, but they’re a good entree into bread making.  Plus, I LOVE bagels, so they seemed like a good place to start.  The recipe I used was recommended by friends (K and S) and taken from a the book The Baker’s Apprentice by Peter Reinhart which I have on order and am eagerly awaiting!  I used Deb’s reproduction of the recipe along with her helpful hints.  Much to my delight, the bagels are absolutely delicious! Now when we move to England, I’ll still be able to have my bagels!

Click on more to see the photos of the different steps in the process.

Sponge RisingThe Sponge

dough ballsDough Balls Formed and Ready for Second Rise

Dough Balls Waiting Under Damp CoverDough Balls Waiting Under Damp Cover

Dough Balls After the WaitDough Balls After the Wait

After ShapingAfter Shaping.  I made the holes a bit too big.
The recipe said 2.5 inches… but 1.5 probably would have been better.

BoilingBoiling the bagels after an overnight in the fridge.

In the OvenInto the oven they go!

baked 2The finished product. I had to let them cool 15 minutes
before eating them. Talk about a challenge!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 4:56 pm

    these look gorgeous!

    • Radishes & Butter permalink*
      August 22, 2009 5:47 pm

      Thanks! They tasted delicious too!

Leave a Reply

