Skip to content

Caramel

March 9, 2009

caramels

I usually reserve candy making to the winter holiday season, but it makes so much more sense to make sweet treats when people aren’t already on sugar overload.  Anyhow, the other weekend it was cold and rainy out and I had the apartment to myself, so I went on a cooking bonanza.  Among the list of things I made were some delicious caramels.

Given my recent vanilla purchase, I was inspired to make anything that featured vanilla.  Although caramels may not be the best medium for this gourmet ingredient, it is possible to detect a faint vanilla flavor and to see the little black specks of vanilla bean in the caramel.

Over the past week, I’ve been bringing caramels to work, and I must say they have been a huge success. One day the caramels ran out before the end of the day and one of my co-workers came over to share her disappointment.  She explained that the caramels were an end of the day

treat for her.  Lately, I’ve been trying to keep at least one in reserve for her. 

I’m nearing the end of my first batch, but given their tasty triumph I’m sure I’ll be making them again in not too long!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Light Corn Syrup
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1/4 Cup Butter
  • 1 Cup Whipping Cream
  • Vanilla Pod (or ~ 1 t vanilla extract)

 Process:

  1.  Butter a 7 x 12 inch baking dish
  2. Place all ingredients except vanilla in a heavy saucepan and bring to a boil over medium-high heat stirring constantly
  3. Reduce the heat to medium and cook until mixture turns a deep golden shade and reaches 250 degrees (approximately 30-40 minutes).
  4. Scrape the beans out of the vanilla pod and whisk it into the liquid caramel.
  5. Pour the mixture into the baking dish and allow to cool before wrapping in waxed paper.
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 6:45 pm

    yum!! looks very professional!

Leave a comment