Skip to content

Hummus

March 6, 2009

As I pondered a subject for this blog post, it occurred to me that I haven’t mentioned my current snack of choice (apart from Radishes)!  Lately, I have discovered a love for hummus.  I have always liked garbanzo beans (or chick peas), but up until now the beige mush known as hummus has repelled me from discovering its wonderful snackability.

I am still in the early stages of my relationship with hummus, but I have grown very fond of spiking it with a bit of cayenne pepper to add a bit of a kick to it.  I’m not particularly fond of tahini so I usually go a bit easy on it.  And I like a bit of tang in it so I add a bit more lemon juice than is often called for.

It makes a great, healthy-ish snack on the nights that we host game night, and it’s always a hit.  Throw the ingredients into a food processor, heat up some pita bread and slice up some carrots and you have a fast and easy snack or appetizer for your guests (and you!).

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups Garbanzo Beans
  • 4-5 T Garbanzo Bean liquid
  • 4 T Lemon Juice
  • 2-3 T garlic oil
  • 2 T Tahini
  • Salt to taste
  • Cayenne Pepper to taste (I usually use about 1/2 teaspoon)
  1. Combine garbanzo beans, 3 T lemon juice, garlic oil, and Tahini in food processor.
  2. As you blend it, add garbanzo bean liquid until it is the right consistancy.
  3. Season with salt and cayenne pepper to taste. And adjust the lemon juice as appropriate.

*Tip: If you add too much salt, it can be somewhat neutralized by adding a bit more lemon juice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. dietbeach permalink
    March 6, 2009 11:03 am

    I am actually boiling up some garbanzo beans right now, and was going to attempt a homemade hummus recipe today myself.
    Thank you so much for posting this, I will definitely use it as a guide!

Leave a Reply

